

TANA - Board of Directors Meeting# 60 (2021 - 2023) Monday, 4th December 2023 from 8:30 pm ET

Teleconference

	Position	Name	Present	Absent
1	Chairman	Dr. Hanumaiah Bandla	~	
2	Secretary, BoD	Mr. Murali Vennam	~	
3	Treasurer, BoD	Mrs. Laxmi Devineni		
4	Director	Dr. Chowdary Jampala	/	
5	Director	Mr. Srinivas Lavu	\	
6	Director			
7	Director	Mr. Janardhan Nimmalapudi	>	
8	Director	Mr. Jay Talluri	>	
9	President	Mr. Niranjan Srungavarapu	>	
10	Immediate Past President	Mr. Anjaiah Chowdary Lavu	>	
11	Secretary	Mr. Sateesh Vemuri	>	
12	Treasurer	Mr. Ashok Babu Kolla	>	
13	Director	Mr. Venkataramana Yarlagadda	~	
14	Secretary, TANA Foundation	Mr. Sashikanth Vallepalli	~	
15	Treasurer, TANA Foundation	Mr. Srikanth Polavarapu	>	

The Special meeting was called to order by Dr. Hanumaiah Bandla, Chairman of BOD, with the following agenda via Teleconference, pursuant to the Bylaws and 14 members attended. Mr. Bharat Maddineni was invited as special guest.

Agenda:

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of Previous meeting minutes
- 3. Legal updates
- 4. Elections
- 5. Grievance regarding Bharat Maddineni not attending 3 EC meetings in a row and the eligibility to contest in the elections.
- 6. Grievance by Mr. Sashi Jasty regarding unauthorized access to multiple TANA accounts.
- 7. Grievance by Dr. Prasad Nalluri regarding violation of bylaws by BOD
- 8. Adjournment



TANA - Board of Directors Meeting# 60 (2021 - 2023)

Monday, 4th December 2023 from 8:30 pm ET

Teleconference

MOTIONS

- 1. Mr. Ashok Kolla moved that "the minutes of "21-23 TANA BOD meetings #59 be approved". This motion was seconded by Mr. Venkataramana Yarlagadda and was adopted unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Anjaiah Chowdary Lavu moved to amend the section 1. c. 2 of election guidelines from "separate US postal mails" to "one US Postal envelope per family with unique code". This motion was seconded by Mr. Jay Talluri and was adopted unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Chowdary Jampala moved to "review a random sample of address changes between 1pm EST to 5 pm EST tomorrow and report by 7pm EST tomorrow to the board if any discrepancies are found report".
- 4. Mr. Srikanth Polavarapu moved the following.

Whereas the BOD carefully considered the note from the Secretary of TANA to the BOD dated 11/23/23 that the Joint Treasurer, Mr. Bharat Maddineni has missed three meetings of the Executive Committee and the explanation of Mr. Maddineni, and other evidence offered at the BOD meetings, and determined that

- a) Mr. Bharat Maddineni is a properly appointed member of the Executive Committee;
- b) Mr. Bharat Maddineni missed three consecutive meetings of the Executive Committee for which due notice has been given, on 10/19/23, 10/31/23 and 11/15/23;
- c) Mr. Bharat Maddineni did not provide any excuses for his absence either to the Executive Committee or the Board of Directors at the time of his absence;
- d) Mr. Bharat Maddineni provided an explanation in response to a request from the Chairman of the BOD on 11/29/23;
- e) The BOD does not find Mr. Bharat Maddineni's explanation as satisfactory or reasonable.

According to the Article XI.1.d. of the bylaws, Mr. Bharat Maddineni is automatically removed from his position as Joint Treasurer and Mr. Bharat Maddineni is further disqualified from contesting, or being nominated or appointed to any office of TANA during the next four years.

This motion was seconded by Mr. Jay Talluri and the members voted as following.

Voted Yes - Mr. Chowdary Jampala, Mr. Niranjan Srungavarapu, Mr. Jay Talluri, Mr. Srikanth Polavarapu, Mr. Murali Vennam, Mr. Sateesh Vemuri, Mr. Ashok Babu Kolla, Mr. Venkata Ramana Yarlagadda



TANA - Board of Directors Meeting# 60 (2021 - 2023)

Monday, 4th December 2023 from 8:30 pm ET

Teleconference

Voted No – Mr. Srinivas Lavu, Mr. Anjaiah Chowdary Lavu, Mr. Janardhan Nimmalapudi, Mr. Sashikanth Vallepalli.

Abstain - Ms. Lakshmi Devineni

Did not Vote -

The Motion was adopted.

4.a. Mr. Anjaiah Chowdary Lavu moved the following amendment to the above resolution.

Board resolves that Bharath Maddineni's explanation is satisfactory due to the following reasons

- 1) Bharat was elected for 2021-23 term which he has fulfilled and relieved from this term appropriately per by law Article IX EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Section 2. a)
- 2) Court has not mentioned about this position re-instatement in TRO
- 3) Board went ahead and re-appointed duly re-defining the EC composition to just 5 EC officers as against original 33 members which cannot be modified with altering the ByLaws. We somehow ignored this while passing that resolution.
- 4) There was no communication from bod for his appointment as joint treasurer, so he never accepted or rejected the position
- 5) Anyway, Board has recognized Niranjan as TANA President per ByLaws automatically makes it as 2023-25 term, and all business done by these officers is 2023-25 term for which Bharat never elected or accepted any appointment for this term
- 6) There is no provision in ByLaws with any punishment for failing in purely voluntary work (especially when he never accepted)
- 7) His explanation of this situation is very acceptable and meaningful, any adverse action could trigger further legal litigation on top of what we are already experiencing.
- 8) Since it is mere appointment, maximum punishment we can give is to cancel his appointment or request him to help in the administration till new team comes in
- 9) Any adverse action could result in irreparable damage to his career (emotionally, financially) and that is what looks by courts if any such damage exists. We could be in serious item litigation.
- 10) If we take adverse action after his Nomination is accepted by the Election Commission, it seems to be a politically motivated item in the community.
- 11) Volunteers are to be encouraged but not discouraged like this, especially in controversial issues.
- 12) Need to consider a ruling that this is not something we can take action a mere appointment for 2023-25 ad-hoc work

This motion was seconded by Mr. Srini Lavu and the members voted as following.



TANA - Board of Directors Meeting# 60 (2021 - 2023)

Monday, 4th December 2023 from 8:30 pm ET

Teleconference

Voted Yes – Mr. Srinivas Lavu, Mr. Anjaiah Chowdary Lavu, Mr. Janardhan Nimmalapudi, Mr. Sashikanth Vallepalli.

Voted No - Ms. Lakshmi Devineni, Mr. Chowdary Jampala, Mr. Niranjan Srungavarapu, Mr. Jay Talluri, Mr. Srikanth Polavarapu, Mr. Murali Vennam, Mr. Sateesh Vemuri, Mr. Ashok Babu Kolla, Mr. Venkata Ramana Yarlagadda

Abstain –

Did not Vote -

The amendment to the motion was not adopted.

5. Mr. Niranjan Srungavarapu moved to adjourn the meeting. This motion was seconded by Ms. Lakshmi Devineni and was adopted unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned on Monday, 4th December 2023 at 11:45 pm ET.

Minutes recorded by: Mr. Murali Vennam, Secretary, TANA BoD.